Adding new objects

For english-speaking users. Welcome!
User avatar
Ek Wilibris
Level 10 Hero
Level 10 Hero
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 19:07

Re: Adding new objects

Post by Ek Wilibris » Mon Oct 08, 2018 07:02

What do you mean "more space"? 1 texture and 1 mesh(and it's lightweight thing), that's all. In case with pseudo 3d you need a lot of sprites to draw all positions. In true 3d you just rotate mesh in right position. There are many cases, when 3d makes a work simpler.

User avatar
CTPAHHuK
Level 23 Hero
Level 23 Hero
Posts: 1984
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 23:12
Location: Ханты-Мансийск
Contact:

Re: Adding new objects

Post by CTPAHHuK » Wed Oct 10, 2018 10:43

3d does not add strategy, but gives problems.

User avatar
Ek Wilibris
Level 10 Hero
Level 10 Hero
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 19:07

Re: Adding new objects

Post by Ek Wilibris » Thu Oct 11, 2018 06:49

CTPAHHuK wrote:
Wed Oct 10, 2018 10:43
3d does not add strategy, but gives problems.
And, which problems does 3d?
2d does not add strategy too, by the way.

User avatar
CTPAHHuK
Level 23 Hero
Level 23 Hero
Posts: 1984
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 23:12
Location: Ханты-Мансийск
Contact:

Re: Adding new objects

Post by CTPAHHuK » Sun Oct 14, 2018 09:12

Ek Wilibris wrote:
Thu Oct 11, 2018 06:49
CTPAHHuK wrote:
Wed Oct 10, 2018 10:43
3d does not add strategy, but gives problems.
And, which problems does 3d?
I don't have time to turn 3D camera.

User avatar
Ek Wilibris
Level 10 Hero
Level 10 Hero
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 19:07

Re: Adding new objects

Post by Ek Wilibris » Tue Oct 16, 2018 07:44

CTPAHHuK wrote:
Sun Oct 14, 2018 09:12
I don't have time to turn 3D camera.
For example, in Warcraf3 you can't turn a camera, and you don't need it anyway, you're seeing everything.
When you do not see something, it's not 3D problem, it's level designers' problem.
You can set FOV to low, and you will see 3D as plane 2D.
But profit of 3D is in development of units and environment, as I said. You do not need to make a number of shots of every unit's position. Intead of it, you just can rotate the object in game into process.
Do you remember, we want to recolor Yog? :) Now it's very hard task, because we need paint every picture, one by one. In 3D we should paint just one texture.

User avatar
CTPAHHuK
Level 23 Hero
Level 23 Hero
Posts: 1984
Joined: Tue Feb 05, 2008 23:12
Location: Ханты-Мансийск
Contact:

Re: Adding new objects

Post by CTPAHHuK » Thu Oct 18, 2018 18:52

May be. But i have no money to buy super computer for stream h4 3d.

User avatar
Ek Wilibris
Level 10 Hero
Level 10 Hero
Posts: 193
Joined: Sun Nov 17, 2013 19:07

Re: Adding new objects

Post by Ek Wilibris » Fri Oct 19, 2018 07:45

CTPAHHuK wrote:
Thu Oct 18, 2018 18:52
May be. But i have no money to buy super computer for stream h4 3d.
Computer - is least problem at all :(
A lot of content - that's problem.

Post Reply

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest